Page 36 of 62

Re: Old BMS Hardware Thread

Posted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 4:13 pm
by GregsGarage
f.mendes wrote:You just have to activate the Timer0 like you have done with Timer1, just the same way.


PicBasic is actually activating the timers, it has shielded us from some of the internal workings of the pic. But using timer0 is not quite as straight forward, for us at least. It can't be set for a 1 second interval, so you have to set it for a shorter version and than count how many times it gets there to calulate the 1 second interval we need. Also we need to be sure picbasic isn't using timer0 for anything or that could cause problems and if we miss any of the counts our timing is out.

The master schematic is correct, but look through the recent posts, there are somethings that will catch you out. Also there are pictures of the assymbled board that should help.

I think that is the correct slave schematic. The slave pic is 12f683, some of the schematics show the wrong pic so check that.

Re: Old BMS Hardware Thread

Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2010 4:12 pm
by f.mendes
Hi all.

I've been busy last month.

I already have started in the program of PIC's, as I made a few changes and I'm doing it in C language.

When I'm done with it, I'll post everything here.

Now I have one doupt.

Peter, can you tell me if I have the right schematic of digital slave?

Is the right version this
DigitalSlave210210.jpg
Digital slave 21/02/10
DigitalSlave210210.jpg (220.51 KiB) Viewed 16768 times
one?

If it's not this one, what version is?

Best Regards,

Francisco Mendes.

Re: Old BMS Hardware Thread

Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2010 6:00 pm
by retepsnikrep
I think this is the most reliable one.

I changed quite a bit though.

JP1 & JP2 and R12 are not reqd.

R4 is 1k

R9 can be anything suitable to drive transistor into saturation. 330R-1K

C1 and C3 can be omitted.

J1 R8 & R6 are not reqd

Re: Old BMS Hardware Thread

Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 12:39 pm
by f.mendes
Ok Peter.

I have to make a few changes.

Just one more thing.

Where do you connect pin 2 of PIC, so it can make Slave Alive Toggle Test Ouput?

Regards,

Francisco Mendes.

Re: Old BMS Hardware Thread

Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:47 pm
by retepsnikrep
The toggle pin doesn't connect to anything, it's just a point where you can attach a scope and confirm the slave is operating by looking at the squarewave output. It could be used for something else like a temp sensor input with appropriate code changes etc.

In the next version of the slaves I will include ICSP pads/subminature pins.

I'm starting to be tempted by a special Insight project using Lipo Turnigy 45-90C nano cell packs. With a stackable solution and simple connections. Possible SMD 50 cell slave board specially for the project.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... duct=14615

Some discussion in this thread.

http://www.insightcentral.net/forums/mo ... post175517

Re: Old BMS Hardware Thread

Posted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 4:25 pm
by f.mendes
Hi again.

Hey Peter, what is the current sensor you use?

Regards,

Francisco.

Re: Old BMS Hardware Thread

Posted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 4:32 pm
by retepsnikrep
I use Allegro sensors +100 to - 100A 2.5v = 0A

http://www.allegromicro.com/en/Products ... /index.asp

Re: Old BMS Hardware Thread

Posted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 4:39 pm
by f.mendes
this is a 5-pin current sensor, how you connect it, since you have a schematic of master with 4-pin way?

Thank you.

Francisco.

Re: Old BMS Hardware Thread

Posted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 4:45 pm
by f.mendes
I took a look at the master schematic. You use a 4-way, but only use 3 pin way out, right?

One for vcc, one for gnd and one for out, right?

Thank you very much,

Francisco.

Re: Old BMS Hardware Thread

Posted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 5:03 pm
by retepsnikrep
The master schematic has extra connections for extra flexibility when using different sensors. Yes I use +5v gnd & signal. The other two fat connections on the device are for the high current connections to your battery pack.